Breath sensor feels sluggish

Feel free to post any broad WARBL questions or comments here.
justforthemusic

Breath sensor feels sluggish

Post by justforthemusic »

Hello,

I'm new to the Warbl and would like to ask for some help. I'm actually on my second attempt to get the Warbl to run properly now, after I gave up a year ago because of this problem.

The problem:

I want to use the Warbl to practice Tin Whistle silently and compared to the real thing the Warbl (or the breath sensor) feels very sluggish in reaction to my breath. I have absolutely no problem if I play with an continuous air stream and just use fingering to separate the notes (like with a bagpipe) - I guess this excludes any latency problems. But if I want to play anything faster than the absolutely slowest songs and seperate the notes with tonguing, it feels like the Warbl can't keep up. I have to "overenunciate" and play very slowly, or play with almost continuous air stream to make it work. To play staccato notes at all, I have to extremely exaggerate the pause of the air stream. The result sounds awful, almost exactly like a child in its first recorder lesson :-(

What I tried:

For days I've been playing around with the configuration tool:
- vented mouthpiece is on
- I adjusted pressure, threshold, multiplier, jump and drop,...
- I tried various settings of the pressure map, which brought some improvement, but I had to lower the input pressure range and output range a lot, which has other ill effects

System:

Windows 10
Problem tested with Respiro, the Configuration Tool Midi and Sforzando

I would very much appreciate any help and tips on how to configure the Warbl to improve the situation.

Thank You!

Bernhard
admin
Site Admin

Re: Breath sensor feels sluggish

Post by admin »